Things That I’ll Purchase Rather Than Sew

I was reading through back issues of Gertie’s Blog for Better Sewing when I stumbled upon this post on items we’d rather buy than sew. It got me thinking about what would be on my list.
  • Jeans – At least right now. I’ve made one pair of pants in a class a few years ago and although they fit nicely they weren’t a style that I would wear. Since I’m much much pickier about my jeans than my slacks I’ll wait to sew a pair until I learn to draft bottoms.
  • Bras – I can see myself getting into sewing underwear especially since I’m usually appalled at their price. However, I can’t wrap my head around a bra. All those tiny seams and underwire – Frightening!
  • A Heavy Winter Coat – Jackets – yes! Heavy winter coat – not at this time. Since I live in a temperate climate, I don’t wear a heavy coat that often. This means that I usually get tired of the style before I wear through one. The last one I purchased was before my brother’s wedding four years ago and I still adore it. I’ll keep purchasing my coats until I’ve fallen in love with a style or fabric that I can’t find on the rack.

I’m really curious to see how this list changes as my skills improve and I gain more experience. I’ll be taking bets on which one I remove first!

Leave a Reply

