Delphinium


I hemmed the purple linen skirt last night – just in time to wear it to the Maker’s Fair in San Mateo today. It was a rather cold day so I wasn’t the most appropriately dressed but hey! I also had the most glorious plans to take photos of the skirt while there but my camera started acting up immediately – so all you get are some quickies taken this evening before the sun went down. I think my photographer needs to work on getting me to smile. I look rather downtrodden in these!


Fabric
: Linen blend purchased at Hart’s Fabric sometime in 2009

Pattern: Self-drafted gathered skirt with straight waistband

Time to Complete: 4 to 5 hours (Not including the drafting or muslins)

Wear Again?: Certainly


What I like 

  • The weight of the fabric. It has a really lovely drape – there’s a heft to the garment but it moves when you move and rustles in the wind beautifully.
  • The length. I really love knee length skirts but at 5’1 rtw rarely hits me perfectly so sewing for yourself is such a delight.
  • The color. I’m such a sucker for plums.


What I’d do differently

  • Sew the waistband’s buttonhole horizontally. The vertical button sagged terribly after wearing it all day. The waistband is interfaced with hair canvas and silk organza but I might need to start adding additional interfacing at the buttonholes. 
  • Raise the zipper 1/2″. There’s a hole in between the waistband and the zipper because I miscalculated the zipper placement. I do this often so it is something that I need to watch.
  • Trim the excess bulk on the side seams before hemming. I used french seams at the sides and a bound seam in the back and I wasn’t entirely sure how to trim the bulk with these finishes but the hem is definitely bulky at these points. If you have any tips, leave me a comment.

I’m off to get my camera to the shop so that you all don’t have to look at blurry photos again! Hope you had a great weekend. 

2 Trackbacks to “Delphinium”

Leave a Reply

