Happy Birthday to Me!

It’s my birthday today!  To celebrate, I’m spending my time before work cutting out my Sencha muslin.

This is my first Colette pattern and I now understand what all the fuss is about – even the packaging is thoughtfully laid out. I have a good feeling that this won’t be my last purchase from Colette.

I’m making version 1 for my first go. I decided to cut a 6 at the bust and a 10 at the waist. I’ve read on other blogs that the pattern fits best on busty gals – which I am not – but I’m hoping that I can make it fit with a few tweaks.

I’ve also read that the neckline is a little too high so I anticipate that I’ll need to lower it a touch. I’m cutting it as is though and will make the necessary changes in the fitting.

After I fit the muslin, I’ll be making my first Sencha out of a dobby broadcloth that I recently bought from Vogue Fabrics. It will be my first official blouse for the fall wardrobe! If all goes well, I intend on using the 4 ply silk I bought on Wednesday for my second blouse.

Hope you all enjoy your (long) weekend!

2 Comments to “Happy Birthday to Me!”

  1. I’ll then be the first one: HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU! 🙂 Fashionable wishes!

Leave a Reply

