Blue Sky

I was shopping with some friends on Thursday when I stumbled upon 2 1/2 yards of a blue cotton blend that I thought would look beautiful as a summer skirt. The piece was only 25″ wide so I was definitely limited with the style of skirt. I wanted an a-line but my go-to draft wouldn’t fit given the length I was after. I decided to draft a 4 gore a-line skirt and cut it on the cross grain. The fabric has a very discreet embroidered pattern that runs the selvedge so it wraps around the skirt like a horizontal stripe.  Here are a few shots of the work in progress:

flat felled seams

horsehair interfacing in the waistband

I’m really excited to dish about the details of this skirt. I finished the piece this afternoon but haven’t had time to get pictures in it. Perhaps tomorrow morning before I take off for my class.

One Trackback to “Blue Sky”

Leave a Reply

