Next…

Now, I don’t want to bore you all but there is a really good chance that this beautiful Italian cotton lawn is going to be another Sorbetto. I picked up two yards (56″ wide) at Britex three weeks ago before I learned how little fabric the top actually takes. I laid out the pieces a few days ago and realized that I could get easily get three blouses! Now for the fun part… picking the accents! Will I keep the pleat or modify the pattern?

This will also be the third piece for my fall wardrobe! Those who have been following my progress may notice that the fabric doesn’t fit within my color palette.

Even though I’ve been fabric shopping over the last few weeks, I’m still having a hard time finding a purple that I like. I think part of the problem is that I don’t normally gravitate towards light purples in my wardrobe. I’ve decided to substitute the red from the cotton lawn. It still looks really nice with the other colors and is bit more “fall” than the purple. So here’s the color palette as it stands now:

I lightened the grey just a touch to reflect the grey in the fabric and I’m considering changing the blue as well. I bought a blue cotton this week while waiting for a class to start but it’s not quite the shade that I originally purposed. It’s closer to a sky blue like this one:
                I like this combo but it brings a bit of a “primary” element to the colors which weren’t there before. Luckily, I’m not married to the blue fabric being part of my fall wardrobe. I bought it to make a lightweight skirt (maybe half-circle) and I think it will be a rather summery piece. It may still work for early fall weather but I don’t think it will be a lasting garment and with only 30 pieces, I may need every piece I can get.

Now that the weather has gotten warmer here, it’s getting pretty difficult to envision a fall wardrobe. I’d love to hear your thoughts so please leave a comment.

3 Comments to “Next…”

    • Isn’t it? I’m really excited to see a finished project out of the material but I find myself hesitating to cut it. This happens to me when I really love a fabric/yarn and I worry about finding the perfect pattern/design. Such a silly worry since I could always purchase more (not to mention the fact that I have way more yardage than I need). I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this though.

  1. I know exactly what you feel about cutting into that fabric. But at least you have so much. I found a beautiful Swiss dot for a Sorbetto but waited too long to buy it and got the very last bit of it. So, if I mess it up, that’s that. I say go for it because you have enough to try again and you can always piece together the mistake one to make a scarf or headband, right?

Leave a Reply

