Pattern Runway

Have you all seen Oona’s darling dress for this week’s Oona Does it. I just love those lines! The pattern is from Pattern Runway and sold through etsy. Not only do I love the curved princess line sundress but look at the kimono sleeve dress! It’s just what I’ve been envisioning for that 4ply silk I bought earlier this summer. Wouldn’t that make a smashing dress for the fall?

Both patterns have captured my attention but I’m hesitating because they are print-at-home. Has anyone else used this line? Should I take a chance and print? I’d love to hear what you think and see some finished garments.

8 Comments to “Pattern Runway”

  1. Love the gathered pockets on the princess seam dress. It would be adorable with boots and a cardigan.

  2. Ha, it’s not so much as a styling idea as a styling lifestyle … I put boots+cardigan with everything I possibly can 🙂

  3. Oh, I think you should go for it! That dress would be great in silk. The only other print at home pattern I’ve ever used was the Sorbetto by Colette and it worked just fine and I see more and more of these PDF patterns popping up. Another option is to ask Oona for her feedback, no?

    • I ended up purchasing the kimono sleeve dress last night. I was surprised to find that there isn’t a test square (like in Burda patterns) so I guess I’ll just have to hope that the pattern is printing to scale. I’m going to contact Oona to see if she had any problems with that but otherwise a muslin should show me if it’s gone wrong. I’d just hate to go through all the work of printing, cutting, and sewing to find that the pattern didn’t print correctly.

  4. hi lizz! i just hit you up all OVER the place so you can get sewing! for anyone else who’s interested in knowing:

    no test square, but no problem!
    pattern runway’s pdfs are gorgeous. she includes screenshots to doublecheck your own printer settings.
    the pattern is printed on a light grid background, FABULOUS…
    and she gives very specific lines for cutting, different than in burda patterns, her method makes it so easy to match up.

    can’t wait to see what you make!

    🙂 oona

Leave a Reply

