Skirts for My Nieces

My niece has been asking me to make her a skirt for a couple of months. Her original request (which she has not forgotten) was rainbow fabric with jeweled colored hearts. She’s 4. Although I wasn’t able to find (exactly) what she was looking for, I think she’ll like what I’m making up. For her, I’m going to make a full skirt with an elastic waist. The bottom layer will be this pink plaid with a layer of the sheer stars over the top. I think it’s going to be really funky and fun!

For her little sister, I’m going to make the same style of skirt. The yellow will be the lining that has a ruffle on the bottom. I’m going to keep the self fabric simple and attach the ric-rac to the bottom and maybe somewhere at the waist.

I haven’t made too many things for my nieces and nephews because they all live so far away from me and getting the appropriate size can be troublesome. I’m hoping that the elastic waist will help somewhat but I’m afraid I’ll have to wing it with the length.

I can’t wait to get started on these!

 

6 Responses to “Skirts for My Nieces”

  1. ohh, I *love* these fabrics and trims. Kid clothes are so fun to make and embellish…I wish I were 4, I’d wear rainbow fabric with jeweled hearts if I could get away with it! Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    • I know what you mean – There have been several moments this week that I’ve almost broken down and sewn these for me. Thankfully, I’ve come to my senses and envisioned myself walking down the street in the blue dotted skirt, looking like a clown!

  2. The star overlay is so cute, and I’m a sucker for ric-rac. They’re going to love the skirts! I always feel like I’m sewing the wrong size for my friends’ children, so elastic is a good bet, I’m sure 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

