Fabric Scraps

Source: Uploaded by user via Maria on Pinterest

After almost a year of dedicated sewing, I’ve accumulated quite a collection of fabric scraps which are too small or too awkward to fold; I’m at a loss as to what to do with them. I’ve tried very hard to not buy more fabric than I can use immediately – I have a small square box that I store my yardage in and I’m determined to not allow my stash to grow beyond it. However, these little scraps are throwing a serious wrench into this plan.

Source: prudentbaby.com via Tara on Pinterest

I’m afraid I’m not the type who would weave baskets…

Source: google.com via Elizabeth on Pinterest

Or bracelets…

Source: howaboutorange.blogspot.com via Elizabeth on Pinterest

And my scraps aren’t nearly this interesting (although I’ll certainly be making push pins and buttons from the ones that are!)

Are my scraps destined for the recycling? What do you do with your scraps?

10 Comments to “Fabric Scraps”

  1. I keep all my scraps as well and have used them in the past to make the following:
    – greeting cards (bright quilting cottons look great glued on to blank cards)
    – quilts
    – linings for clutches and bags
    – small (3.5″ x 5″) frame purses
    – fabric flowers to embellish blouses or fabric flowers to be turned into brooches
    – headbands
    Yikes, after reading above list I feel totally kitschy. The bottom line is that no matter how much I use them, the scraps in my designated bin seem to reproduce faster than rabbits!

    • I like a little kitsch here and there – mostly in my kitchen and wardrobe!
      It’s this type of reproduction that has me nervous! I’m afraid that the pile will sit in the corner, screaming for me to be crafty. I have two grocery bags full of scraps from the year that I need to sort. I think I’ll divide it into two piles: pieces big enough for linings and patterns bold enough for accents (covered buttons, push pins, etc). Everything else will go in the recycling. I’m sure someone out there is more resourceful than me but there just isn’t enough time in life to dwell on what I am not! 🙂

  2. I keep as much as possible in a box withthe year on it in case I have a problem with the thing I made. Lose a covered button, perhaps….

  3. I waited to comment because I was at a loss as well – what does one do with all those scraps? But reading the above gave me an idea I rather like: Sew a 2″ strip to the bottom of a plain dish towel!

    I’d love to make a quilt from my leftovers, but nothing goes together! I saw a blog post the other day (and now can’t find it!) showing how to make a tailor’s ham, and it seems it was stuffed with fabric scraps. I also remember reading something a few months ago on the Colette blog about donating scraps to a coop in (I believe) South America.

    When I was teaching (Montessori), I used to take all my yarn and fabric scraps to school. The children always needed those things for their projects. Perhaps there’s a school nearby that could use yours?

  4. These are some brilliant ideas! I have this problem too. I’ve been trying to find some sort of textile recycling in my area, but haven’t had any luck. Well, I’ve yet to get in contact with council, but I’m sure I’ll find something out soon enough.

    Ashamedly, I don’t tend to actually make much with my scraps, but I do hoard them. Perhaps I should give one of these a go…

  5. I keep them, to an extent, and have used the scraps in projects such as Andrea’s list. I love using them in cards! If I’m going to be 100% honest, I’ll admit to having more scraps than I know what to do with at the moment. I don’t like clutter, yet I don’t like waste. Sigh.

  6. The same problem worries me. I do send my cotton scraps to the Project Linus group in the UK (I’m in Luxembourg) they make quilts for sick children. Perhaps you could offer them to other crafters that would use them for things you would not. There are plenty of crafty sites and forums where you could offer them.

  7. I’ll join the choir – more scraps than I know what to do with! Now that there are more babies and small kids in the family, I might use fun remrants as accents, but on the whole, it’s hard to find something reasonable to do with them. I actually blogged about what I made with some of my scraps – bias binding! Nice silks is especially nice to make bias binding with, since they make for such a lovely touch on the inside and outside of garments. This works for me since I know I can use the bias binding to finish things, but there is always the struggle of turning them into something that will actually be useful!

  8. I think you need to start a new scrap box so that you can get more fabric. But then when you have enough you should knit a rug like the one’s from Mason-Dixon Knitting I like the Dizzy Rug but the Tailgate Rag Rug would be good too!

Leave a Reply

