3. The Contemporary Batik

For me, the most difficult part of maintaining a sewing blog is getting my picture taken. Some days (or in this case, weeks) I just don’t feel like being in front of the lens. I think this photo captures this perfectly.

I realized yesterday afternoon that if I didn’t get some photos of this skirt to post, I might never post about it. Since completing this skirt two weeks ago, I’ve sewn three more garments – all of which I’d like to show you. So, without further delay….

Pattern: self drafted

Fabric: Silk/Cotton Print from Gorgeous Fabrics, lined with silk habotai

Notions: invisible zipper, hair canvas, silk organza, and petersham ribbon

Cost: approx. $30

The skirt is a simple design to showcase the linear pattern. I cut two rectangles and then pleated them for added volume. The waistband is cut straight with a petersham ribbon on the inside – a technique I learned from Lynda Maynard. It makes the most comfortable straight waistbands! You can give it a try with this tutorial from Interweave press.

One thing that I’m not thrilled about – this skirt is susceptible to static cling. I was surprised by this considering that the self-fabric is a cotton/silk blend and the lining is silk. It was so bad one day that I broke down and bought a box of snuggle dryer sheets at the laundrymat. After wiping down the skirt with one, I stunk but at least my skirt wasn’t riding up!

13 Responses to “3. The Contemporary Batik”

  1. I’m with you in that playing model can be fun, or a thorn in the side. The skirt looks great, and thanks so much for sharing the tutorial link. I’ve been curious about this whole petersham ribbon waistband technique, and almost emailed you about it!

    • Yes, exactly. Sometimes I feel inspired by a backdrop or location so I don’t mind the modeling but lately it’s just not happening for me.
      I love petersham ribbon! My body type isn’t particularly suited for straight waistbands but sometimes the design calls for one. The petersham seems to mold to my body and prevents the waistband from folding/bunching at the sides. I’ve also seen it used as a waist facing although I have yet to try this it out. Let me know if you try the tutorial – I’d love to hear your thoughts on the technique.

  2. That fabric is amazig and the skirt looks great It’s given me an idea to draft my own pattern for some fabric I’ve been hoarding. I totally hear you about the pictures thing: I detest posing!

  3. Cute skirt!
    I get the photography thing, I take all of my photos with a tripod, which means finding the right place outside of my house (too small and crowded with things), with good lighting and no other people. It’s definitely something I’d find hard to do everyday.

  4. Oh I hate hate hate having my picture taken, but maybe if I had a fabulous batik skirt…….

  5. Your skirt is gorgeous! I really can’t wait to see the other items 🙂

    I agree – it feels so awkward posing. It’s what keeps me from posting my items in a timely fashion also. (Along with the need to brush my hair and at least put on a tiny bit of makeup! Sadly, not things I do every day!)

  6. this is just delicious! How odd about the static-ness. Here’s hoping it doesn’t prevent you from wearing it, it looks fantastic!

  7. Love that skirt and that fabric!

  8. i like your skirt, simple but look so beautiful

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

