My Someday Dress

While riding the ferry last fall,  I spied this woman wearing an incredible dress. What I loved most about it was the sweetheart neckline and raised collar. I knew I had to make it.

I started drafting it last week and made up a muslin on Saturday. Although I knew this wouldn’t be a quick dress, I had unrealistic expectations that I could make it for an upcoming Sew Weekly theme. I realize now that it’s going to be a long process before this dress is ready.

The shape of the neckline around the bust isn’t quite right and should also be lowered. I think instead of dipping in the front I’d like it round and concave. Although this is a ways off, I thought it would be fun to share with you ‘my someday dress’. Do you have any projects that you’ve been working on slowly over time?

24 Responses to “My Someday Dress”

  1. I think sweetheart necklines are so flattering. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  2. Oh, it looks like it will be a beauty. I look forward to all the in progress posts!

  3. That would be both of my Colette dresses, the Oolong and now the Pastille. The first took 18 months to finish and this one is going on a year. It seems when items have numerous fitting problems I have less motivation to pick them up frequently. Therefore other projects, quicker projects, get done in between tries. I also have a Vogue duster coat that I have been working on since the Fall Palette Challenge, but with that one I think I need a completely different pattern, the alterations that pattern needs are overwhelming.

    Your dress looks familiar, I think I’ve seen that design in an old movie somewhere.

    • I can only imagine that Oolong would take some time. Your Pastille muslin looked like it’s coming along well and I look forward to seeing it completed!
      Raised necklines always remind me of the 40’s. I’d love to see this design if you happen to think of the movie.

  4. I’ve always loved this neckline too-very 40’s!

  5. This will be lovely! My “someday dress” has been in the works since September– it’s based on a vintage pattern, with few alterations, but I started it when I was brand-new to sewing and have been working on it very slowly off and on since then. Basically every technique I used on this dress was new to me, so I’ve been taking my time and making sure that everything is done properly (plus, I purchased the fabric in Paris, so I can’t get more if I make a mistake!).

  6. How fun! I love sweetheart necklines too. I don’t have this kind of project to work on, but I think it’s a good idea. I need to start tackling more difficult projects and learn to take my time.

    • I don’t normally have the patience, either! The Sew Weekly has a UFO theme coming up and I just don’t keep unfinished projects normally. If it’s not working, I move on. I think this is the first project that I’ve started while working on another.

  7. It looks beautiful so far!

  8. Don’t give up, I love your start. This looks a little bit like Amy Butler’s Lotus pattern.

  9. Wow this will be lovely. I’d love to try drafting this as I get better at sewing, looking forward to the next update!

    • Thank you! I think drafting is something you can do at any time, so don’t feel like you have to wait! In fact, constructing patterns has taught me the most about sewing and helped me get past a really nasty beginner’s block.

  10. I’m already so excited to see what you come up with!! It is already so lovely 🙂 Pattern draping is something I’d really like to try in the future, but I definitely would like to first master custom fitting using a commercial pattern, to be able to grasp it 🙂

    I have so many wild fantasies about incredible couture tailored clothing I would love to create someday, but nothing that’s begun to materialize in reality yet!! LOL 🙂 I would say the two that probably will come first are a self-drafted corset (I have the outer shell fabric for that already), and a tailored jacket, as I have secret guilty fetishes for both of those things LOL.

  11. It is starting to look really nice. I would love to see progress photos as you work on it.

    Hmm. I have a ton of projects that I have been taking my time on. I have a jacket that I started over 4 years ago, a costume that is about 3 years old and projects that I’ve started within a year.

  12. Sweetheart necklines are my absolute favourite! I’m so impressed that you are drafting this yourself. I wouldn’t have a clue where to start! Really looking forward to seeing this ‘materialize’ (!) Really doesnt matter how long it takes. The process of doing this will be such an amazing journey, I’m sure 🙂

  13. Ooh, it’ll be fun to see the progress on this. I love necklines that curve up the neck like that. I have a long project with a similar start… I once saw a beautiful vintage silk housecoat and have been trying to recreate it from pictures and my mind’s eye. I’ve been drafting it on and off for the last year. It’s kind of fun and I’m in no hurry. How wonderful that you have a drafting teacher to help!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

