Closed:: Giveaway: Seam Allowance Guide ::Closed

The lovely Hollie, inventor of the Seam Allowance Guide, has offered to giveaway SAGs to three lucky readers!

Curious to find out more about this product? Check out my review from earlier this week. The Seam Allowance Guide is a must for those who hate having to add seam allowances to your sewing patterns. I’ve also started using my guides to help me evenly trim seam allowances during sewing.

To enter to win, comment on this post and tell me your favorite sewing pattern without seam allowances. Make sure that you’ve included an email address in your profile. One entry per person. Open internationally. The giveaway will close on Tuesday, April 9th at midnight (pacific time) when the winners will be randomly selected. I’ll announce the winners on Wednesday!

The giveaway is now closed! See the winners here!

37 Responses to “Closed:: Giveaway: Seam Allowance Guide ::Closed”

  1. Yes please! I know that some of the Salme patterns don’t have seam allowances already – the pleated T perhaps?

  2. Right now, I am working on the pleated T from Salme patterns. I have been procrastinating because there are no seam allowances.

  3. There’s a vintage Burda t-shirt pattern that I’d love to make for the summer. Like Beth above I haven’t really looked at it because there are no seam allowances.

  4. Wow, thanks for the giveaway! I just started working on the Burda 2/2011 dress with gathered rectangle skirt and cap sleeves– no seam allowances!

  5. I’ve been dying to make a pair of the BurdaStyle Bella pants!

  6. Oh wow! I’ve been wanting one of these but have yet to have spotted them in a sewing shop near me! My favourite pattern without seam allowances to date is Marfy 2465 – a sleeveless blouse with 6 overlapping pleats at the front, and a gorgeous round neckline. Adding seam allowances has always been SUCH a drag – this little gadget would really speed things up 🙂

  7. Ooh, I’d love to have a pair of these. I’ve almost exclusively sewn with patterns that don’t include seam allowances. If I am to chose only one favourite, it would be ONION 2026 – a knit dress with a neckline edge and gathers. I’ve sewn it something like 6 times, and on my second go, I added the seam allowances to the pattern pieces – I knew I was going to reuse that pattern many times.

  8. I’ve just finished tracing out “Burda 10-2011-123, Wrap Dress with Flounce” and drove myself slightly insane adding in the seam allowances on the traced version, this nifty device would have saved me a good hour I think and let me get into cutting the fabric itself! This would mean I could trace without seam allowances and then alter them to suit the fabric more easily.

  9. I’ve never used a pattern without a seam allowance but I just made a Tova top and I’d really like to increase the seam allowance. Thanks for the chance!

  10. Cool! Well, any Burda pattern I can think of would be included in this, tracing those out is hard enough without also doing the seam allowances properly. One I really want to make for summer is 7/2011 #110.

  11. I really want to make Burda sleeveless blouse #128, with the gathers at the shoulders. So classic!

  12. This tool would help me with any number of my Burda magazine patterns.

  13. Count me in for the giveaway. I’d love to try these out for tracing the stitching lines of patterns with seams. I wonder if it would stick to my tracing wheel. It is magnetic after all. The only pattern I’ve ever used without seam allowances has been the Bustier Dress from Gertie’s Bombshell Dress course. So, by default it would be my favorite? I do like the drape of the skirt…

  14. Great giveaway!! I used to only buy patterns from the big four, but since I’ve been in France, I sew only from Burda magasines and spend ALOT of time using a seam gauge to add seam allowances to the paper pattern pieces before cutting into the material – so I’d love to win a set!Thanks!!

  15. seams like every Burda pattern is without seam allowances–I don’t recall using one that didn’t require adding it… I have 12/2011 Herringbone jacket #121 on my list of garments to sew. And I would love the SAG to help with it!!

  16. In fact all of my patterns don´t have seam allowances, but my favorite one for this ist the Vogue 8667 dress that I want to start with.

  17. The seam guide would be very handy. My favorite pattern without seams is a self-drafted bodice

  18. I would love a stitch allowance guide so I can make up a dress that my sister has drafted. It would also be handy for burdastyle magazine patterns too.

  19. Would be so handy for the Burda patterns I see and am too scared to attempt without a seam allowance.

  20. I concur, any Burda!

  21. I’ve actually just spent this weekend tracing off several patterns from the My Image pattern magazine – which is a little scary because most of the patterns say “exclusive of seam allowance”, but some don’t leaving me to wonder if I do or don’t have to add seam allowances in those designs (I am – just in case!). And it is definitely a painful process adding in the seam allowance by hand!

  22. I love these thingies and I’d love to have one for myself! 🙂

  23. I’d love to win one because all the Dutch patterns are without seam allowance.

  24. Oh what fun! Pretty much any burda magazine pattern sends me batty adding the seam allowances so I’d definitely use it for that 🙂

  25. well, i am a beginner so my favorite no sa pattern would have to be my self drafted skirt. Would love to see if these would make adding sa’s easier and more accurate.

  26. I woudl use these for when I make patterns from my existing clothes…you know, that skirt I bought ages ago which is perfect in every way except for the fact it’s wearing out? Or anything else self-drafted…or Burda, like everyone else 🙂

  27. Thanks for the giveaway! I am using Burda magazine patterns mostly, and the seam allowance guide would be really handy.

  28. I subscribe to Burda so am often tracing out patterns without seam allowances. My favourite pattern that I’ve seen in there lately and am planning to make up is the 12-2011-121 blazer pattern.

  29. I would love one of these. I use Burda magazines regularly, this would spead up the process. Thank you!

  30. I’ve read a few other bloggers experience with these so I am keen to try one for myself 🙂 I sew Burda, Manequim and Patrones which all have no seam allowances but at the moment Manequim is my favourite and since it also has no English instructions for me a seam allowance guide would at least take one thing out of the tricky equation 😉

  31. I would love one of these! My favorite seam allowance-less pattern is those that I drape myself. I do extensive pattern modifications and pattern making and this would help out a lot. My favorite to date is a knock off of an Alfred Shaheen wing bodice dress.

  32. Woo hoo, free stuff. I’m in. My favorite pattern is a budra style button up. Once I forgot to add the seam allowance so that project had to be scraped. This little gadget would certainly help.

  33. I love Burda magazine patterns, particularly this one button down top with pleats on the yoke but I hate not having seam allowances!

  34. OOh, I would love to have a seam allowance guide. I don’t use too many patterns without seam allowance at the moment. The most recent one was BurdaStyle #117A which is skirt with front pleat. This would be really great on the patterns that I do a lot of fit adjustments on. I do the 1in “just in case” side seams.

  35. Uh, how about any and every Burda magazine from the last 5 months or so. This would also work really well for self-drafted patterns that I make a bunch of alterations to and need an easy way to add allowances. Thanks Lizz!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

